Frank Olsheski Award - A CMCS Tradition

by Jay Cockrum (CMCS Member Since June 1970)

Why does The Corvette Marque Club of Seattle have a Frank Olsheski Award? Why is it presented at the annual Christmas party? Who was Frank Olsheski? Many CMCS members have contributed much of their time, abilities and knowledge to make CMCS what it is today.

One who stood out was Frank Olsheski. He probably held every club office, board, and committee position more than once. He organized, led and participated in events. His home was the official mailing address for CMCS. Frank promoted the club to Corvette owners wherever he went. He was a CMCS cheerleader.

Frank was raised in Seattle and earned bachelor's and master's degrees at UW. He lived in Bothell and rode his bicycle to work as an industrial arts teacher at Interlake High School. Mr. O, as he was known at school, was devoted to his career in education and was honored as the state's top industrial arts teacher.

Frank was Santa at the CMCS Christmas parties. Members would earn, by their actions throughout the year, "gifts" that would be presented in the proper fashion from Santa's Bag. These were hand made. Frank was proud of his Polish heritage and the bag contents reflected it. Because she complained about the Because she complained about the membership meeting dinners always starting late, Jan Cockrum remembers getting a small lunch box with a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. These stories go on and on.

Frank Olsheski was 41 when he passed away in 1984 from complications of cancer. CMCS members Neil and Noreen Millen donated a perpetual annual award to keep the memory of Frank's enthusiasm alive. Since he was Santa at Christmas, CMCS presents The Frank Olsheski Award at our annual Christmas party to a CMCS member who has gone above the call of duty for CMCS. A great tradition, indeed!

Year Recipient 1984 Valerie Johansen 1985 Jan Cockrum 1986 Jan Cockrum 1987 Mike Shelly

1988 John Paul Nelson III

1989 John Thomas

1990 Kayla Main

1991 John Thomas

1992 John Bell

1993 Sandra Green

1994 Cloyd Jackson

1995 Gary Main

1996 Ben Benninghoff

1997 Oran Petersen

1998 Gary Main

1999 Barbara Jackson

2000 Gary & Kayla Main

2001 Cassie Black

2002 Jane Shimanek

2003 Lorrie Montgomery

2004 Dennis & Lorrie Montgomery

2005 Kevin Jewell

2006 Marty Cameron

2007 Marty Cameron

2008 Michael & Jane Armstrong

2009 Marty Cameron

2010 Lorrie Montgomery

2011 Stan & Billi Trask

2012 Jim McDonnell

2013 Billi Trask

2014 Oran Petersen

2015 Bill & Marty Cameron

2016 Tim & Mona Cox

2017 Steve Yabroff

2018 Candy Turi

2019 Kevin & Judy Jewell

2020 Alton Loe

2021 Kevin Wilson

2022 Shaun Hayes